Home > Sept 2010, Tutorials > The Blue Jean Purse Tutorial

The Blue Jean Purse Tutorial

Purse made from recycled jeans

Purse made from recycled jeans

I finished this purse for my sister’s granddaughter.  I like the tutorial section on other sites that I decided to try and make a tutorial when I could for the projects I am making.

The shorts are from a garage sale for 25¢.  I have a large collection of old jeans that I use to make projects so I used part of a leg from another pair for the strap.  I had the lining material but that small part probably cost 50¢.  I had the thread and velcro.  The cost of my purse was under $1 but yours should not be much more.  Just look for those garage sale bargains.

Original Jean Shorts

Garage Sale Shorts

I opened the crotch seam by cutting them.  You will be removing this part so preserving this seam area is not important.

Releasing crotch seam

Releasing crotch seam

You need to open the front seam.  This seam is important for reconstruction.  Use your seam ripper and open it carefully.   I opened it almost to the intersection under the front opening.

Opening front seam

Opening front seam

I folded the side over flatly as in the picture.  I drew a  line down the middle of the front opening to crotch area.  You will do this on both sides of the front panels.  This line is your guide for the front seam of the purse.

Measuring for new seam placement

Measuring for new seam placement

I trimmed some of that excess material away and closed the seam.  The I laid it flat to see how much of the back that needs to be trimmed away.  (I chose to save the hem and have it on the purse.  This did cause more work but I think it was worth the effort.) The line I drew on the back side was for the final length of the purse so I had to consider that it was going to include that hem.  The lines showed what the excess was and had a very small seam allowance in it.

Measuring for new length of back of purse

Measuring for new length of back of purse

You will trim the excess and sew the hem back on.  The arrows show the seam after I sewed them back together again.  Then I sew the bottom together.  I sewed it on the outside with matching thread

Back is sewn back together

Back is sewn back together

I placed the shorts the lining material I chose.  I traced around the outline of the jeans with about a half inch extra around.  The lining will be smaller but this will insure that we have enough.  Then with wrong sides together, I sewed the sides and bottom.  Then I fitted it in the jeans until I liked the fit.

Measuring the lining

Measuring the lining

At this time I made a strap out of the leg of an old pair of jeans that had the same color consistence of the purse.  I forgot to take pictures.  I cut 24″ x 3″.  I turned under 1/4″ along one of the long sides and ironed it down.  Then I folded the other long side to middle.  This will have wrong side touching wrong side.  (There is NO way you are going to sew it and turn it. So let’s make it easier to do.) Then fold the other edge with the 1/4″ turn under toward the middle so it covers the raw edge.  Then sew it down to close it.  I did refold this a couple of times so the seam ended would be fairly close to the edge and made a second seam on the other side so it be balanced with the seams.    I hope this is clear..if not contact me and I will help you.

Then I pinned the strap to both sides.  I sewed it in with the machine and went over it twice to hold up to whatever an eight year will do with.  I placed the lining in the purse and pinned it.  I did have to take it out and take in one side another half inch so it would fit properly.  That’s what you do when don’t really measure it but just eyeball the fit the first time.  Then I hand hemmed it due to the decorative front.

Handle attached and lining pinned

Handle attached and lining pinned

I sewed about and inch long piece of velcro for the closure.

Blue Jean Purse

Finished product

I placed the shorts the lining material I chose.  I traced around the outline of the jeans with about a half inch extra around.  The lining will be much smaller as we fit it later but this will insure that we have enough.

Measuring the lining

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

