Home > Sept 2010 > Ruffled Skirts for Little Girls

Ruffled Skirts for Little Girls

September 11, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I have finished these 4 skirts for two little girls in my life. I got this wonderful pattern from You Can Make This website. I just love this site for patterns and ideas of things to make.

This pattern is called Ooh La La Ruffled Skirt. It is a PDF download with multiple sizes. I looked up the amount of material to buy and thought I would make one child a skirt with the pink as the main color with black material as the ruffles. The other girl would get the blue main color with the brown material as the ruffles. I was going to make the ruffles with no hem (wider piece folded in half.) The thought of hemming that many ruffles made me lean to the “no hem” version. After I got home I realized that having that much fabric would be too heavy for a summer dress. Then I thought….hey what about making the ruffles out of tulle. So back to the fabric store and buying tulle for the ruffles. I am very pleased with how they turned out and think I will make future dresses in this fashion or with a very thin material for the ruffle….until I can convenience myself to buy a Serger for those hems with single layer ruffles. Well now off the to the post office next week to send them to some eagerly awaiting girls.

  1. September 22, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Very cute!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

